20 Comments
Sep 5, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

They are also rich in protein and fiber. A large part of the anti-inflammatory component is related to their support of the microbiome in the gut which creates a biofilm that is protective. The Insta-pot makes cooking them so simple. Add spice and some vegetables for the near perfect food!

Expand full comment
Sep 6, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

I periodically make 15 bean soup with the Cajun spices. I throw in a large onion, a large can of tomatoes, and my vice-a bit of North Carolina country sausage.

I’ve always read that cultures with significant percentages of people that make it to 100 generally have ample amounts of legumes in their diet.

Expand full comment
Sep 5, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

Dried beans are the mainstay of a plant-based diet. Far from the poor man's food people think they are, they can be extremely appealing. I like to roast cooked chickpeas after seasoning them with chili powder or garlic powder or whatever. A great healthy snack. Lentils should be high on the list too. I mixed some recently with rice, celery, onion and carrot and a little lemon garlic dressing. Yummy. I also use canned beans, but I always rinse them to remove salt if they have it. I prefer the no-salt added beans. Very handy for a small household and really not much more expensive if one considers the cost of cooking. Frozen mixed vegetables with lima beans are also handy for a quick soup or other dish.

Expand full comment
Sep 5, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

I grew up eating beans. I don't think I have met one I didn't like. My only downfall is I always like them with homemade buttermilk cornbread. But I limit myself to one slice. Many families in the South would have been close to starvation had it not been for dried beans especially during the Depression.

Expand full comment
Sep 5, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

Dried beans are always in our pantry and are used often. Simple, yet nutritious meal!

Expand full comment
Sep 5, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

I try to cook dried beans every Monday during cooler months - After the first meal (with rice), they can be used for soup or incorporated into other dishes.

Expand full comment
Sep 5, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

Good to know! Thank you.

Expand full comment

We have been dead wrong about the early onset of type II Diabetes by denying the carnage of insulin resistance sue yo high carb intake! Dead wrong!

https://youtu.be/-BI-rlA6TBQ

Expand full comment