10 Comments
Oct 24, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

I am very pleased to be able to collaborate with Dr. Tim Noakes and the Nutrition Network! I will have a fully certified Nutrition Network trained RN to educate our patients regarding healthy nutrition void of sugar, refined carbs, processed foods and seed oils starting January 2022!

Expand full comment
Oct 24, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

Quality of carbohydrates makes a huge difference, such as white rice versus brown rice or rice versus broccoli, for example. If one clicks on the link within the referenced link, one article in 2020 finds no long term difference between low-carb diets and low-fat diets in weight loss, but does not address blood sugar.

Expand full comment
Oct 24, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

Yup. I am glad that people finally are waking up to the facts and take action! It’s absolutely the time!

Expand full comment
Oct 24, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

We found that certain diets are SO high in carbs. Rice and tortillas can be dietary minefields. Very basic, if it’s white it’s “bad”. White potatoes, rice, pasta, bread and tortillas. We encouraged whole grains and more fresh vegetables.

Expand full comment

Thanks for this confirming discussion. Several years ago Robert Lustig acquainted me with the evils of sugar, processed foods and obesity and I wish that I had done a better job. More recently, I've discovered "Intuitive Eating" that Tribole and Resch coauthored and after the second reading I've come to realize that I've never realized when I am full nor paid attention to when I am hungry. It is interesting that the approach is not to forbid food but to exercise some restraint that may come with moving the idea of things from the category of forbidden fruit which seems to make things more desirable.

A nutritionist was recommended by another cardiologist that I saw a few times. Her approach was to appear with storage crates of boxes and pull out specific ones when mentioned. I came away with the appreciation that she didn't instill but was that if a label needed to be read to find out what was consumed, a person probably shouldn't be eating it.

She suggesting lots of fish, vegetables and fruit and limiting read meat to filet mignon and New York strip. Then one day she quipped that "A calorie is a calorie," to which I replied, "Thank you." When she asked why I told her that she had just given me permission to eat all the Heath candy bars and rib eyes that I wanted. She protested vigorously.

Expand full comment