11 Comments
Aug 28, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

MCGDocWrites MCGDoc’s Newsletter ·just now

This highlights the urgency for primary prevention and lifestyle optimization! We are waiting way too long to intervene. The way medicine is treating type ii diabetes is too little and too late! Way too late! The notion that it is an irreversible disease process is fatalistic and shortsighted! It is completely preventable and reversible if dealt earlier!

Expand full comment
Aug 28, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

During my 25 years of working on datasets to train MCG Technology, I have observed thousands of people develop this sequence of abnormal patterns. Not a surprise to witness

the acceptance of the concept of “Insulin Resistance” finally! I wish this realization came earlier! Too many people die prematurely because we refuse to follow the scientific evidence the data right in front of us! SAD!

Expand full comment
Aug 28, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

I wonder what the data will show, eventually, about the overweight and diabetic patients and their susceptibility to covid complications and death. And I’m not talking about just the morbidly obese, but, rather, those with large abdominal fat and who overeat, and might be just 20-50 pounds overweight, with type 2 diabetes.

Expand full comment
Aug 28, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

As a lay person, my first response is that I'd better work on getting back to my high school/college weight. More realistically, I need to get back to walking as soon as the weather permits and lose 20 pounds, which would put me within the "normal" weight for my height. I've always wondered--is that present height, or original height? I also wonder how much avoiding added sugar in one's diet affects insulin resistance.

Expand full comment