8 Comments
Dec 22, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

Very inspiring! I, too, want to be able to walk longer distances. Thank you for this post.

Expand full comment
Dec 22, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

Very inspiring story. It proves that with small changes and baby steps we can all achieve better health.

Expand full comment
Dec 22, 2021Liked by William H Bestermann Jr MD

Kudos to you for meeting this woman at the level she needed you to! Often that is all it takes to spark motivation in someone. For me, the small steps needed to overcome a back injury were the key to my motivation to remain mobile and healthy. I stopped taking my health for granted at that point. (Around age 45!) I’ve come to learn that perfection is not really my goal, the simple, consistent ability to live my life in the moment (not just “some day”)is my priority. So, do I eat the cake sometimes? Yes! Do I miss the gym once in awhile? Also yes! But I don’t binge eat or stop exercising completely because of one not-so-perfect day. I focus on the things that matter more to me—can I button my favorite jeans? Can I enjoy a dinner out with friends? Am I able keep up with my mountain goat of a husband when we hike a mountain trail? It’s the “little things” that make life wonderful and seem worth living for, and for me, the things that I need to do to to be able to sustain all those things bring me equal rewards. It definitely is life-changingly helpful to have a healthcare professional who understands how to listen carefully to help their patients find and meet an individual goal that is sustainable for them.

Expand full comment